Welcome!

Last year, I ran my first marathon at the St. Louis Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon. It was all right. I had a lot of trouble with my IT band beginning at mile 8. By the time I crossed the finish line, more than 18 miles later, I was mentally fatigued and in quite a lot of pain. I finished the run in 4:45, which is decent for a first marathon, but I know I can do better.

This year, I’ve learned a lot about strength training, fueling, and strategy for these types of events, so I’m hitting the road with fresh legs and determination.

Training actually began a few weeks ago, but I only decided to do this blog recently, so I’ll attempt some catch-up. But first…

What’s on this blog?
Mainly what I’ll write about is my training, which includes running, other various exercises, and eating. I consider nutrition to be a big part of my training, so there may be a bit about how I fuel my runs and workouts as well as what I do for recovery.

My training consists of short(er), fast runs during the week followed by a long run on Saturdays. I have at least one rest day that I use mainly on Friday before my long run on Saturday morning. The days switch up from time to time, but I intend to get the miles in, which is the important part. There is more information about the types of runs I do in the Training Details page! Check it out if you’re interested in that stuff.

I’ll update for the week on Sundays after my long run, so make sure you sign up for the updates if you want them. I’m already enjoying my training regime, and I’m looking forward to building my miles back up. Leave notes of encouragement, congratulations, or criticism! I’ll accept anything, but don’t be too mean. Also, if you’re training for a run, let me know! Whether it’s your first mile, first 5k, or anything else, I would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

