Why no meat?

I’ve been a vegetarian for somewhere nearly ten years. I don’t remember exactly when it all happened.

Here are the two questions everyone wants to ask about being vegetarian:

Why?
Originally, it was to be supportive of my then-girlfriend’s ambitions. She said she had always wanted to be vegetarian, but didn’t think she could do it on her own. So I, knight in shining armor that I was, offered my companionship in that pursuit. That girlfriend became my wife, and we’ve continued in our veggie ways (thanks to my gallantry).

As the years go on, and I hear this question again and again, my answer remains the same. We don’t feel it’s a chore or imposition on our lives to not eat meat. We’ve found we don’t really need the meat we’re not eating. So, we keep not doing it.

Recently, someone asked “Why?” and before I could answer, he continued, “I mean, I know the reason. But…why?

I didn’t know how to answer that one.

Where do you get your protein?
Short answer: I get my protein from the food I eat.PlantbasedProteinInfographic-850x1950
Meat may be a good source of protein, but it is not the only source of protein, nor is it the only good source. I understand the concern, though. Especially as an endurance athlete, having protein in my diet is important. But there are about seven million (hyperbole) other vitamins and minerals that I need to have. Over the past several months, I’ve been doing a lot of research into what constitutes a healthy diet for a vegetarian or vegan person (really any person). Here is what I’ve learned: If I eat a healthy diet filled with a variety of whole, healthy foods, I’m not going to need to worry a whole lot about where I get my protein, or anything else for that matter. Lots of whole fruit, lots of whole vegetables, some nuts and seeds if I want (but I don’t really eat a lot of these), and I’m pretty much good to go.

How to handle eating with me:
I’m one of the least high-maintenance persons you’ll ever spend time with. I’ll figure out a way to get food, believe me.

Eat whatever you want! I don’t really care what you’re eating. Enjoy it! We’ll have a good time together. I’m not going to get preachy.

Don’t apologize for eating meat. What a weird thing to do. I’m not going to apologize for eating something you don’t eat.

Don’t make fun of me for not eating meat. Or for not being able to eat the meat you’re enjoying. It’s not nice to make fun of anyone for any reason, let alone the food they eat.

I’d love to talk more about the food I eat to fuel my workouts and runs, but not everyone wants to hear about it. If you want more, just comment below, and I’ll answer any of your questions.

I ran a bit this week.
It was a little tricky to get all my miles in this week, but I made it for the most part. I have five days of running in my planner, but some of them I feel are more important than others (right or wrong), and sometimes it’s difficult to carve out enough time to get every one of them done. The intervals, tempos, and long runs I consider to be more important, so I make sure to get those in at the least. My long run this week was 10 miles. It’s the first double digit run of the training, and it always seems impossibly long. The course I ran took me out into the country for some long, straight, empty roads that seemed to drag on for many more miles than they insisted they were.

There really isn’t much more to say about this week. It was quite standard, as far as training goes. I ate a lot of food, ran a lot of miles, and burned a ton of calories. Tomorrow, I start all over again! Next Saturday, I’m running a 5k at the Evansville Zoo. Hopefully I’ll have some personal record-breaking news to share with you all!

2 thoughts on “Why no meat?

  1. wrsurya August 2, 2014 / 3:52 am

    Reblogged this on wrsurya and commented:
    aha! a nice, straightforward take on protein and being vegetarian… thank you!

    • A Carter August 4, 2014 / 3:11 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the comment and reblog.

Leave a Reply

