The final countdown.

Single digits! Single digits of days left before I run double digits of miles!

Still training.

IMG_20150428_174847364
Even though it’s tapertime, I’m still running regularly. Last weekend, Ashley and I ran the Kentucky Derby Festival miniMarathon in Louisville, KY. We ran the whole way together through the rain, and it was great. There are struggles and roadblocks for every half marathon, but it was great to work together to cross the finish line on this one.

On Sunday, I ran another 13 miles. I rode the strugglebus out the front door that morning, but I’m glad I did. It ended up being a beautiful day running around the cemetery again, pulling out quite a few loops inside the walls to get my full distance in. It was worth it! When I started running in 2012, I never imagined I would run a half marathon distance to recover from a half marathon race. Things happen, eh?


For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been digging deep in an attempt to assess potential and establish some confidence in my abilities. You could call it testing my legs to see what they’re actually capable of before running the longest, hardest run I’ve ever set my sights on.

The best place I’ve found to do this type of testing (nearby) is at Audubon State Park. It’s across the river and in another state, but it’s only 10 minutes away. Getting back into those woods, though, is like being in a completely different place. The trees and trails are so beautiful. It’s truly a relief to get out there and run the challenging hills that my legs crave, dig in to the hairpin turns, and bound over the fallen trees and low-hanging grape vines. There’s no time I feel better than when I’m following that dirt ribbon winding through the deep green woods.

IMG_20150428_175736538

Gnaw Bone will definitely be hard, but I am absolutely ready to run it. I still have 24 easy miles left to run before race day, and that’s a good thing. I’m supposed to be taking it easy and letting my legs get amped for the race, but I’m not ready to stop running just yet. A little bit of light running, plenty of foam rolling, and a dash of yoga is the recipe for this ultrarunner!

Leave a Reply

