My next big challenge.

clock

The biggest challenges I’ve undertaken have usually been proceeded by “I’ll never…I could never…”

After deciding that I would not be held back by fear of failure or fear of the unknown, I have been able to achieve some amazing things that I’m proud of. Through the process of tackling these challenges, I’ve also been awakened to the idea that I can accomplish anything.

So what comes next? Well, I’ll be working hard to reach the next level of fitness. Further, faster distances. A leaner physique. Basically upgrades to the things I’ve already accomplished – and that’s great. It’s still motivating and inspiring to me, so it keeps me going.

But there’s something else I’ve faced many times over the years. I’m sharing it with you in the hopes that it will hold me accountable to this next goal. It isn’t a glamorous one, but it may be my biggest one yet.

5:00 a.m. Wake-up Call

I’ve never been a morning person, and that seems to get worse and worse with each passing day. I’ve tried and failed several times to wake up earlier in the morning to get things done, whether those things are running, housework, reading, writing, or whatever, nothing seems to work. After a week, or even just a day, of getting up at 5:00 a.m., I begin to hit that snooze button again. Then I give up, and it’s back to 6:45 for me. Well, to be perfectly honest…it’s back to an initial 6:30 alarm followed by resetting my alarm for 6:45 before getting out of bed.

It all sounds so familiar:

  • I’ve told myself I can’t do it.
  • I’ve tried several times to overcome it and failed.
  • It’s something I really want to do because I know it will make a big, positive change in my life.

These are all ingredients to the success pie I’ve enjoyed for almost 10 years.

missing me

So I’m definitely going to do it. I’m committing, recommitting, to get this done. To become a morning runner. There are those who do and those who don’t, and I’m going to be one who does. It’s not going to be easy, but I’m greatly looking forward to the benefits!

  • Increased energy and focus at work.
  • More time to do things after work.
  • Less traffic.

Or as I read in a recent book on motivation by Doug Hay at Rock Creek Runner:

Imagine a time when your schedule is completely clear.

Where your phone isn’t ringing, no one expects you at work, and your kids don’t need a thing.

Sounds like paradise, right?

It’s called the early morning. When everyone else is in bed.
Doug Hay

The Plan

Ain’t nothing no good without a plan. In the past, I’ve tried to ease myself into waking up early, and it didn’t work for long. One thing or another would derail me. This time, I’m going to tear off the bandage. Cold turkey may be the key to success. So, my plan is basically no plan. Just do it. Don’t overthink it. Be it!

Want to join me?

If anyone wants to join me for a nice morning run virtually or in reality, let me know! I may not be much of a conversationalist, but I’ll enjoy the company!

Leave a Reply

